Twisty Tacos

My first food-related post and I already have a confession to make: Lately, I just haven’t been feeling the whole cooking thing. I think I was just lacking inspiration. Or the craziness of working out a whole new schedule for a new semester. Maybe some combination of both? Either way, this Hoosier foodie has been absent from the kitchen for too long! In light of the gloomy weather keeping us from enjoying the first tailgate of the season, I figured it was time to cook up something delicious to brighten the mood of the day. I had miscellaneous leftovers from my half-hearted attempts at meals from the week and was scouring the web for some inspiration when I found this recipe for tortillas with chicken as the title so descriptively informs us. Light bulb? I think so! Google translate tried its hardest to make a translation for me, not quite making the recipe logical, but I didn’t need the whole recipe because inspiration had struck. I grabbed the leftovers from my kitchen and set out to make my version of these tacos called twisty tacos!

The recipe was pretty easy going, asking for any leftover chicken (I used some lemon pepper chicken I had in the fridge) and some veggies with cheese and cream cheese. Obviously, anything involving cheese is going to be a winner and using leftovers made this recipe a definite go for a quick and easy meal.

Other leftover food I added to the mix:

Leftover rice and already sautéed colored peppers and onions.

I also decided to try my hand at something new: making taco shells using flour tortillas in the oven. I’d seen it around some other cooking blogs and on Pinterest especially, but hadn’t really felt the need to try it, but I am sure glad I did! Unlike the unforgiving-ness of hard shell tacos, and the floppy-ness of soft tacos, putting the flour tortillas over the grates of the oven (like in the picture) was genius. They were just crispy enough to get that taco-y feel, but soft enough so that they didn’t crack and leave your filling falling out.

Topped with some Salsa Queen salsa from the Carmel Farmer’s Market (courtesy of my roommate!), it made the perfect lunch for this glum day.

Of course, no perfect lunch can be complete without a dessert. My sweet tooth wouldn’t be happy so I tried out a mug cake, peanut butter mug cake to be exact. It turned out pretty well, to my delight. It’s definitely something that I will be making more of in the future!

Twisty Tacos

Ingredients:

1/4 cup any kind of leftover chicken

2 sliced baby portobello mushrooms

1/2 cup sauteed veggies (I had peppers and onions)

1/2 cup leftover rice

1/4 tsp taco seasoning

1 tbsp cream cheese

1/4 cup shredded colby jack cheese (or any cheese of your choice)

Method:

Preheat the oven to 400˚. I didn’t really wait for the oven to preheat before I put my tortilla on the grates like in the picture. But just keep an eye on the tortilla, it shouldn’t take more than 10 minutes to make a crunchy but soft taco shell. The longer you leave it in, the crispier it’ll get.

While the tortilla is cooking, warm a medium pan on medium-high heat. Saute your veggies of choice including the mushrooms (or add in already sauteed veggies). Once the veggies are cooked, add in the chicken, rice, taco seasoning, and both cheeses. Keep the heat on medium until all the components are warmed through and melded together. Once done, stuff your taco shell and top with your favorite salsa.

*Note: this can easily be made into a vegetarian taco by replacing the chicken with black beans!

Peanut Butter Mug Cake

Ingredients:

4 tbsp all-purpose flour

4 tbsp white granulated sugar

1/4 teaspoon baking powder (I substituted baking soda and it worked fine)

1 egg

3 tbsp  peanut butter

3 tbsp milk

3 tbsp vegetable oil

Method:

Mix together all the ingredients in an oversized mug and cook in microwave for one and a half minutes to begin with. If it doesn’t look done, cook for 30 second intervals until you’re satisfied. But be cautious because overcooking will make it rubbery (learned that the hard way!). Cook away and enjoy!

*original recipe linked in title of recipe

Happy eating and reading!

-PP

One thought on “Twisty Tacos

Leave a Reply

