Breakfast for Dinner

There always comes those nights when you just need to drag yourself into the kitchen and crank something out for the sake of feeding your tummy and Friday night was one of those nights for sure. Nothing seemed right to satisfy my needs so I made like my little roommate Emily and whipped up some pancakes for dinner. Which is what I thought she had for dinner based off of the sounds I heard coming from the kitchen. Unfortunately I don’t actually know what she had, but I had my dinner idea so it really didn’t matter, huh? Anywayyy, I put together this super quick breakfast for dinner meal in no time and was back to my scintillating night in with my economics book. I know, Friday night of homecoming and I stayed in? How dare she! Unfortunately for me, I have an insane amount of homework to do this weekend. College no parents, you say? Hopefully next weekend I can go back to the usual college shenanigans 😛

As much as I’d love to take the credit for these incredibly delicious pancakes, my roommate Aysenaz actually came up with the idea to make a bananas foster- type pancake. We are always looking for ways to use up our bananas because heavens only knows they ripen up so quickly!

Of course it is that moment when you get a meal idea in your head when hunger magically flares up, right? So as the saying goes, my eyes were bigger than my appetite and I also decided to add to the pancakes some scrambled eggs and mashed potatoes. I only added the mashed potatoes because eggs and I have a love-hate relationship. I can only handle the kind that come scrambled. And I can only handle them if I or my daddy makes them. Picky picky picky for sure! Anyway, besides that, I often have to have an accompaniment to hide the…. “egginess” of the eggs. I know, I might as well not eat them, but I really do try so very hard to like them! It’s a texture thing, I just can’t help it!

Anybody else struggle with eggs? Let me know of your eggy stories and we can commiserate!

 

Bananas Foster Pancakes

Ingredients

1 cup Bisquick pancake mix

1&1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 tbsp butter

1 ripened banana, diced

2 tbsp brown sugar

Add the butter to a small pan on medium heat. Warm through until the butter is melted and add up the diced banana, brown sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon. Mix and allow the ingredients to combine and come together, about 3-5 minutes. Allowing it to cook for longer will make for less brown sugary sauce and an overall thicker banana portion.

Meanwhile, mix up the pancake mix and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon in a small bowl. Mix in milk 1/4 cup at a time until desired thickness is reached. (I like more runny pancakes, but Aysenaz likes them thicker..its all a preference thing!).

Mix in the bananas foster with the pancake mix but DON’T WASH THE PAN. Stir the bananas and pancake mix until combined. Use the same pan from the bananas foster to cook the pancakes. Using the pan, makes the leftover sugar caramelize and stick to the pancakes in a delicious manner! I usually eyeball the doneness of the pancakes, but its about 2 minutes per side, just depending on the heat of the stove. I like to keep it pretty low to ensure the whole pancake is cooked through. Serve with or without your favorite syrup, the brown sugar definitely gives these pancakes a sweet flavoring.

Seasoned PP eggs

1 large egg

1 tbsp milk

1 tsp red chili powder

1 tbsp parmesan cheese

1tsp cajun seasoning

1 clove garlic

1 squeeze of spicy brown mustard

Crack egg into a bowl and whisk in the rest of the ingredients. Pour into a preheated pan and scramble away!

The nice thing about this meal is that I can use one pan to make it all, cooking the pancakes in the same pan as the bananas foster gets off all the leftover sugar, allowing you to use the same pan for the scrambled eggs!

Enjoy!

-PP

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

