Tailgate Pulled Chicken

It’s fall, it’s fall, it’s fall! And look at that lovely view I get to gaze out at from my bedroom window!

In honor of fall spirit…well, maybe more just football spirit, I decided to break-in my crockpot with a pulled chicken recipe I found on foodgawker. Pulled pork is such a tailgating classic, but since I haven’t actually gotten to do any tailgating of my own for the season, tailgate food will have to be a sufficient replacement. I also didn’t have any pork in my fridge so I figured I’d make do with what actually was in the fridge: chicken. And who would have thunk that this would rival all the tailgate pulled pork I’ve ever had (not that much, for the record, but still!)?

I don’t think I’ve mentioned how much I love Foodgawker yet. The site has pages upon pages of member submitted recipes and it is like greatest thing in the world. No joke. I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t “gawk” (as I’ve so fondly taken to calling my obsession) 20 times per day. Luckily I haven’t made it all the way through the thousands of pages of recipes yet so I will be preoccupied for quite some time! My favorite thing about Foodgawker, if I absolutely HAD to pick, would probably be the way the recipes are displayed. I love pictures. I have never in my life actually tried or been inspired to try a recipe that didn’t have a picture to go with it. Food is just as much a visual pleasure as it is a tasting treasure. There’s no way I can imagine what I’m in for if I can’t actually see it! So Foodgawker does a fantastic job with showing pictures of food and then if you are interested enough to click on the  picture, or just roll your mouse over it, you’ll find what it is called…and then fall even more deeply in love with it!

But anyway, besides my undying love for a food website, (what else is new? :P) this shredded chicken turned out fantastically. I did make a few adjustments, just to fit the items that I had in the pantry plus personal taste alterations, but it was a good recipe in and of itself. Unfortunately, I had dollar college-kid bread, but I would imagine this would be fantastic on a nice homemade roll or bun or even like my roommate suggested, some Hawaiian bread rolls would have made a great pairing with this recipe. Too bad I couldn’t have taken this to an actual tailgate! Oh well, maybe someday…until then, here’s a recipe for you!

Ingredients:

1 8-ounce can reduced-sodium tomato sauce

1 4-ounce can chopped green chiles, drained

*I didn’t have chiles or tomato sauce so I used a can of rotel that I had sitting in the fridge

1 Tbsp cider vinegar

*didn’t have cider vinegar, but I used regular vinegar and it tasted just fine

2 Tbsp honey

1 tsp sweet paprika

2 Tbsp tomato paste

*didn’t have tomato paste so I used ketchup instead

1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

2 tsp dry mustard

*I used spicy brown mustard instead

1 tsp ground chipotle chile powder

*I used taco seasoning

1 tsp Kosher salt (only use 1/2 if using regular table salt)

2 Tbsp brown sugar

1 clove garlic, minced

1 boneless, skinless chicken breast

1/2 small onion, roughly chopped

Directions:

Add all of the ingredients to a blender and blend till smooth. Add all of the sauce ingredients to the bowl of a crockpot and stir to combine. Add the chicken and onion and use a spoon to coat with sauce. Cook on low for 4 hours. Remove the chicken from sauce and shred with two forks. While shredding the chicken, increase the crockpot heat to high and let cook for another 20 minutes, with the lid off, to thicken the sauce. Return the shredded chicken to the sauce and stir to evenly coat with sauce.

Enjoy!

–PP

Leave a Reply

